New hat, and a puppy sweater

I knit a hat over the weekend: 

Cable Hat 

 

I was craving cables and the 18 Seconds Before Sunrise pattern has been in my bookmarks for sometime now, so this weekend I thought it was time. Remember when I said I that my new yarn buying days were over until I successfully destashed? Lies, all lies. I didn’t even go through my stash before I decided to go out and buy some yarn. 

 

My minor modifications to the pattern: In typical me style, I used nothing that the pattern called for. I made it using Patons Classic Wool Merino in Rosewood, which is a worsted weight yarn, not chunky, with US 8 circular & DPNs. Sooooo, to accommodate my supplies I casted on 96 stitches instead of 72, perfect for my ginormous head. At the end of the pattern I added a repeat of rows 1-9 to make it longer. 

 

I like the hat a lot, I definitely have to make it with chunky yarn because I love how the cables seem to come to life, but I’ll save that for another weekend. 

 

All this and still I don’t check gauge, ha. It’s hit or miss when it comes to my guesstimates, but I am happy to report that this hat fits well so my guesstimates were right on for once. 

 

Onto puppy sweaters! 

 

This is a puppy sweater on needles: 

Progress shot...

 

This is a puppy sweater on needles, on a puppy named McGee: 

McGee

 

Isn’t she adorable???!?!!!?! She is a friend’s puppy and while searching the internets for a pattern that she could make, I found myself desperate to cast on while finding pictures of cute little puppies looking all snuggly in their sweaters. I haaaad to get a head start on McGee’s sweater. I made this sweater using Joann’s Sensations and the pattern is loosely base on this sweater from Autumn Blossom Knits. The only modifications I did is that I casted on 28 stitches and used 2×2 ribbing. As I knit the sweater, McGee kept on shrinking in my memory, so that’s when my friend brought her in for a fitting. The sweater only needed an inch or so more, and then, ta-da, done! I am so knitting more of these in the immediate future!

5 thoughts on “New hat, and a puppy sweater

  1. GrandmaJoyce says:

    OMG Are these just TOO CUTE. Good golly, I’m off on more projects. Art Eggs, Art Gourds, Rubber Stamping, Garden and ETC. JUST NOT enough. LOL
    What a wonderful group to share to much from all over the world.
    Hugs to all
    GrandmaJoyce California USA

Leave a comment