In non-knitting news…

22 Aug

I got married in a pair of pink chucks almost five months ago. Being the tomboy that I’ve always been, I knew there was NO WAY I’d wear heels or any girly shoes on that day. Some argued, “but Queta, it’s you wedding day, the one day you should wear heels!” to which I countered, “but (insert name here), it’s my wedding day, the one day I should be comfortable and ME!”
.
Wedding teaser...
.
Ultimately, I got my pink shoes and everyone that knew me completely understood. A while ago, I started tossing around the idea of embroidering our wedding dates onto my wedding shoes. I kept stalling though because I’ve never embroidered and kept imagining that I’d leave many holes of errors in the shoes. Last week, I felt inspired by the Two Color Embroidery Tutorial at the purl bee and I finally decided to put aside all my insecurities about embroidery and gave it a go:
.
Wedding shoes
.
I’m really happy with the outcome and I think it’s nice way to commemorate that special day and to um, you know…remember my wedding date! Although really, it’s impossible to forget the date since it’s the day before Louis’ birthday. In fact, the day after the wedding, his birthday, I let him open all the weddings gifts (OK – most of the wedding gifts)! Aren’t I such a nice wife? I think so.

2 Responses to “In non-knitting news…”

  1. iHanna October 20, 2008 at 1:25 pm #

    That is just awesome, thanks for sharing! I ♥ this!

  2. bluesleepy January 20, 2009 at 5:07 am #

    OK, you know what? This is the coolest thing I have read in a very long time. I love that you were married in pink Chucks because you’re right — it’s all about YOU and how comfortable YOU are. One of my friends was married in white sneakers (she had to hike up a trail to where she got married), and another one of my friends wore silver Crocs at her wedding. It’s all about making the ceremony into what fits you and your spouse. I love that you embroidered them with your wedding date. What an unusual and special memento! The embroidery looks awesome as well.

Leave a Reply

