A swift and a cozy walk into a bar…

6 Jan

I hope your Christmas was FABULOUS! Please ignore the messy background and bask in the amazing yarn swift that my dad-in-law gave me.
.
New toy
.
Isn’t it great? I was so excited about it that when we got back in town, I went out and bought two hanks of yarn just so I could wind them up! Don’t worry, I am not frivolously purchasing yarn, I plan on making a Thorpe hat for my sis-in-law.
.
I also received a Nintendo DS Lite from the hubs, for which I immediately knit up a cozy. The first one I made came out a bit to big and I wasn’t crazy about the colors (blue/green variegated yarn), but this weekend as I sorted through my massive stash of yarn, I saw these three leftovers sitting together and it was the perfect inspiration for the most perfect cozy!
.
Nintedo DS Cozy
.
Nintedo DS Cozy
.
The cozy was really easy too. It’s just a tube knits on straight needles, I think it’s called double-knitting. Basically, I used the technique shown here, but once I got to my desired length, I separated my stitches in half and bound off loosely. This gave me a nice opening for my DS to go in. For the pink and red color changes I just carried the colors on the side picking up the other to knit with every other row. I hate weaving in ends – this is the only way I ever do stripes!
.
I’m just going to pretend like there isn’t a 5ish month gap since my last post.

Leave a Reply

