The internets helps maintain my hermitness.

22 Jan

A couple weeks ago I went to A Mano Yarn Center to buy some yarn for my sis-in-law’s Thorpe hat. While I waited to pay, I noticed this really nice beret sitting on one of the counter tops. It was soft and had the most perfect ribbed pattern. I couldn’t stop admiring it. I really wanted to ask about the pattern source, but my shyness got the best of me (ugh!).
.
On the way home all I couldn’t stop thinking about the hat. I needed to make one. These were the thoughts that ran through my head: do I email them to see if they can point me to the pattern? Why am I such a shy doofus? Raverly, I should check Ravelry.
.
I got home, logged on Ravelry and started my sleuthing. The first place I went to was A Mano Yarn Center’s group page. Then from there, I checked out the mods, and finally – I found the most perfect beret  pattern that I had eyed at the store, Joelle. I purchased it immediately, but because school just started, I had not yet had time to knit it. That, of course, did not stop me form glancing at the pattern everyday, patiently waiting for the time to make it.
.
Last week I caught the one of the worst colds I have had in my adult life. On a side note: Do these illnesses get worse with age? I feel like if this was two years ago I would have been able to go on with my daily life, but this time around I felt like crap. I was sad because I had to cancel my plans to go to Disneyland on my birthday (sad faces), but on the bright side, this illness afforded me some time to knit in between my Nyquil comas. And of course, first up, was my hat!
.
Hat progress
I worked on it a little while I watched day time TV, and was finished by the second day home from work.
.
New hat
.
Hat
.
My purled increases need some work. I think this is mostly due to the fact that I knit the wrong way. I’ve known this since the first time I saw someone knit on Knitty Gritty via the overhead Knitty cam.  My wrong knitting is further confirmed whenever I browse through the videos at the How I knit, purl, crochet, or spin group at flickr. I’m kind of a continental knitter, but not really – eh, I’m going to have to upload my own video soon. I’ve only found one person on there that knits like me.
.
But I digress – the moral of this story is that I really love this hat pattern and I think that you should make one too!

One Response to “The internets helps maintain my hermitness.”

  1. sayllama January 22, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

    Your beret turned out great! I know just the one you were talking about seeing at A Mano. BTW, I, too, am a painfully shy hermit but the ladies at A Mano have been nothing but kind and helpful to me. I usually only go for their breakfast club and an occasional Stitch N’ Bitch but I hope to see you around sometime!

Leave a Reply

