Procrastination = crochet?

3 Mar

Granny squares
.
My preferred craft when it comes to yarn play is obviously knitting. Recently, I’ve noticed that when it comes to putting off deadlines, like let’s say, the papers that are due at the end of this quarter (ahem, NEXT WEEK!), my procrastination seems to manifest itself in a desire to crochet! I learned to crochet as a kid, way before knitting needles entered my life. As a result of double jointed fingers, I’ve always had a bit of difficulty with crocheting and when I learned to knit, it quickly became my preferred craft over crochet (Sorry, mom).
.
Last week, while waiting for The Salvation Army to pick-up our old TV, I sat on the couch and crocheted, once again, using my free time to NOT study. But why crochet? If I’m going to procrastinate shouldn’t I be at least knitting? Perhaps finishing my sister’s overdue birthday scarf? Nope. I wanted to crochet.
.
Headbands
.
A few quarters ago, it was crochet headbands.
.
I can’t quite figure out why I do this, but the thought of it makes me laugh to no end. I even crochet in class, during the breaks! Last week, during the class break I finished making this a flowered headband using the pattern from Creative Yarn:
.
Flower Headband
.
Crochet is only the beginning of my “I need to do that, instead of this,” procrastination. I also find myself cleaning out the fridge, organizing my craft thing, or cleaning our bedroom – all things which generally don’t bother me if they are a little messy, but suddenly they must be cleaned – NOW!
.
Ok, this week for sure I will start writing some papers… maybe.

3 Responses to “Procrastination = crochet?”

  1. Zuleika March 4, 2009 at 12:07 am #

    Nice to know I’m not the only procrastinator around. 🙂

  2. slanderific March 5, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    I LOVE the headband. It’s awesome. I’ve actually complete one scarf, and started another, but haven’t had a chance to knit in a while. Boo. AND I’d still totally love a knitting tutorial from you. But first I might need a crochet lesson!!

  3. geetargeek March 5, 2009 at 6:45 pm #

    I made so many of those headbands a few quarters ago, that I’m thinkin’ I need to list them on etsy because I totally don’t use them. I might do that over the school break (in two weeks), which is also the best time to catch me for a lesson! Email meee!

Leave a Reply

